The Prison Doctor – Amanda Brown

43239348Synopsis:

“Dr Amanda Brown has treated inmates in the UK’s most infamous prisons – first in young offenders’ institutions, then at the notorious Wormwood Scrubs and finally at Europe’s largest women-only prison in Europe, Bronzefield. From miraculous pregnancies to dirty protests, and from violent attacks on prisoners to heartbreaking acts of self-harm, she has witnessed it all. In this memoir, Amanda reveals the stories, the patients and the cases that have shaped a career helping those most of us would rather forget.”

Review:

The Prison Doctor by Amanda Brown is a book that has been high on my TBR list for a while now, but it is one that has edged up there even more so, since Amanda Brown has just released another book The Prison Doctor: Women Inside. Working in a book shop, I can’t begin to tell you how popular this book has become and books similar to this. I have also now got my own collection of Non-Fiction books, thanks to work, about doctors, midwives, paramedics, criminals and so forth and now with the release of the new book, I need to begin reading some of these Non-Fictions from my TBR collection.

As soon as I started reading this book, I understood why it has become so popular! I devoured so much of this book in one sitting, realising and learning, more than I thought I was going to. This book started with a bang, believe me, then going back into Amanda Browns life and showing how she went from being a partner in a GP to working and becoming a Prison Doctor. It’s actually a really fascinating read and one that really does teach you that there is more to a person than what you see on the surface. Just because someone is in jail or might have a drug addiction, they are a person first.

I finished this book within a day of reading it and thoroughly enjoyed it and am really excited to now read Amanda’s newest book. I enjoyed her writing style and it really did open my eyes. The next book I think I am going to listen to the audiobook version because I think this would be even better when listened to as an audiobook format.

 

Published by ShayneysReviews

Hello! My name is Shayney Hardcastle. I am a massive book enthusiast so I created this blog as my own little place where I can write and express my thoughts and review each book I have read. I am 23 and am currently living in a small town in Wales, in the United Kingdom, and love how reading let's me explore the world outside of this small town. I have also recently been sent more and more books and ARC by authors to review and wanted a place to review them that wasn't just on Goodreads and Amazon.

One thought on “The Prison Doctor – Amanda Brown

Leave a comment