Reading Plans for the Second Half of 2020

Hi Everyone!

It’s such a weird thing to say but, we are half way through the year!! SHOCKING right!! So what does that mean when it comes to reading plans. With the “joys” of corona and lockdown, I am currently beyond my target when it comes to my Goodreads Reading Challenge.

  1. To Start and Hopefully finish the Mortal Engines Series:- This is a series I have been wanting to begin for a while now, even more so since seeing the movie. My partner owns this series, but he’s also been wanting to reread this series and his hype as built this up for me. The reason I don’t think I will actually read and finish this series all in the second half of the year, is the fact that he wants to read them as a kind of Buddy Read. This usually takes longer than when I just read them, as we usually just listen to the audiobook version together at night, so lets see what happens. since writing this up, I have started this series and have finished the first book. I didn’t want to remove this goal from the list, because it still is one that I want to complete before the end of the year. 
  2. To read and complete Les Miserable by Victor Hugo:- Les Miserable is a book that has been on my TBR for a long time now, but it’s size has forever intimated me. This has been enough to put me off from picking up the book and reading this book, but I hope to correct this in the second half of this year. I hope to not only start this book, but to complete it before this year is over, which is saying something. So fingers crossed!! 🤞
  3. I want to narrow down the books on my currently reading shelf:- If I’m not enjoying a book I don’t tend to DNF it per say as there’s always that chance that it could get better and that I’m going to miss out on something amazing. So I have a shelf on my TBR trolley that is dedicated to those books that I have already started but have put down for some reason. I plan to narrow the amount of books down that are on this shelf. I am currently already doing this at the moment as the books my partner is picking for my Weekly Reading TBRs seem to be coming from this shelf, since he found out about it.
  4. Get Through My NetGalley/Amazon Vine Books:- This is something else that I currently working on with my review bowl, but something I hope is completely narrowed down by the end of the year. I want to concentrate my reading on those books that I have that I need to review, so I stop feeling guilty for picking up and reading new books. Plus have my NetGalley ratio over 80% and have a hell of an Amazon Reviewer Ranking. – aim to read one of each a month 
  5. Be More Selective In My Choices:- This is a piggybank on the last point, but I want to be more selective on the books I select to review. Whether this is from NetGalley, Authors, Amazon, or from somewhere else. I love NetGalley but I often have a little spree of requesting books (sometimes without reading the description and just looking at those glorious covers) and then forgetting about them, then do it some more. This can add up to a lot of books if you get those requests accepted. – Don’t request on a whim, really want it
  6. Buy Less Books:- This is something that I say all the time, but I’m going to try and stick to it this time around. During Lockdown I have enjoyed reading through the backlog of books that I have acquired over time, cutting down my unread books even if it was just by a little bit. I did also make a mistake of then rewarding myself by buying more books. It’s an endless cycle. But I would like to actually read all the books that I own one day, so I want to start by buying less books. Not stopping completely, just buying less. – For every five books I read, I am allowed to buy a new book
  7. Read More Non-Fiction:- I usually do good when it comes to reading Non-Fiction, but I have been slacking a bit when it comes to the first half of 2020, so I want to make sure that this changes with the last half of 2020. Whether this is reading actual physical Non-Fiction or doing so via Audiobook, as long as I get through one Non-Fiction a month I don’t mind which format its with. To be honest, I do usually enjoy it more when I do listen via audiobook, but I do own a load of that I haven’t currently read as well. – read at least one Non-Fiction a month
  8. Read More Books By Diverse Authors:- There is never anything wrong with trying to expand on your own experiences and what you know, trying to educate yourself all why supporting others. A goal this year for me is to read more books about and by diverse authors, allowing me to not only become more open and able explore people and a world I might not know fully, but it will allow me to educate myself at the same time and also allow me to therefore educate others.

These are some of my current goals for the remaining of 2020 and hopefully will continue on and built as we move into 2021.

Published by ShayneysReviews

Hello! My name is Shayney Hardcastle. I am a massive book enthusiast so I created this blog as my own little place where I can write and express my thoughts and review each book I have read. I am 23 and am currently living in a small town in Wales, in the United Kingdom, and love how reading let's me explore the world outside of this small town. I have also recently been sent more and more books and ARC by authors to review and wanted a place to review them that wasn't just on Goodreads and Amazon.

Leave a comment